What’s Cooking: ummm, typos

Buttermilk Chess Pie.

Image via Wikipedia

So, I decided to make Chess Pie again tonight. (Can you guess that I love it?) I gave the borrowed cookbook that had the recipe in it back to my grandmother, so I hopped on here to grab the recipe from my previous post. I printed the page and bebopped into the kitchen to get to work. And that’s when I realized that something was wrong.

The first red flag was that my recipe called for cornmeal. Cornmeal! In a pie! Sheesh. Apparently I really wasn’t paying attention when I copied that recipe onto the blog, since it should have read cornSTARCH instead of cornMEAL. What a disaster some poor reader would have created had they listened to me.

The second red flag came about by chance really. I glanced at the baking time before I popped it in the oven. What I “saw” was 20-25 minutes. The timer went off at 25 minutes and I went to check the pie. It was hardly cooked at all! So I peeked at my recipe and saw that I had actually typed “20-55 minutes.” Pretty flexible, huh? It was supposed to read 40-55 minutes.

Man, oh man, I need to be MUCH more careful when I type up recipes in the future! Or just be in less of a hurry to eat them so that I have time to proofread.

2 thoughts on “What’s Cooking: ummm, typos

  1. I wasn’t going to say anything, I just figured that I shouldn’t have expected anything better than the gooey, gritty mess I ended up with after trying your recipe! After all, I already knew that you were prone to burning the toast. We’re talking actual flames here, fellow followers!

    Only kidding, Leah. I meant to, but I never got around to trying your recipe. I will make a point of doing so now that I know it’s been sorted out. If I like it, I’ll share my secret (OK, not so secret, I share it with everybody who tries it and likes it enough to ask) baked cheesecake recipe.

    • Yeah, I wondered if anyone even noticed that it was so off. I can honestly say, this is the first time I genuinely hope no one listened to me! 😉

      Chess Pie really is delicious. The recipe is sorted, so now you need to get baking!

Leave a Reply

