Unexpected Bonding

Since I’m injured and ridiculous, I’ve been staying at my parents house. It sure makes things easier to have someone to help you carry things when you are on crutches. It’s also nice to have someone cook for you because standing on one foot while cooking gets a bit painful.

Anyway, my parents had to go to the other farm for a few days so I’ve been left in the care of my younger brother. If you’ve read some of the older posts on this blog, you probably know that my brother and I are NOT the closest of siblings and that it would be easier to do a root canal on a sabre tooth tiger than get my brother to do favors for me. So, needless to say, I was a bit concerned about how this would go since I was going to have to rely on him for a lot of things.

Thursday night I was bored out of my mind so I decided to watch a movie on Netflix. Nothing I really wanted to watch was available for streaming, so I watched The Last Airbender. It was better than I imagined it would be, but not great. Not something I probably would have made a point to watch again. And definitely not good enough to make me want to watch the Nickelodeon anime series it was based on. Except for one thing.

My brother came in while I was watching it and was actually excited. My redneck, cowboy, “I don’t like anything foreign and weird” brother was excited about anime. Granted, it WAS American anime, but there wasn’t much American flavor there. Turns out he used to watch the Nickelodeon show when it was airing and liked it. Really liked it.

So, rather than spending our few days alone together arguing over when he was supposed to feed the animals, we’ve been watching anime together. He remembers so much about the show that he’ll come in in the middle of an episode and say “Oh, that’s the episode where…” or “Oh, that’s so-and-so, I like that character.” We’ve found something to talk about. It’s like a miracle.

So, now I’ve become a fan of a children’s anime show all because my weird brother was so genuinely excited by it. Life is strange. But not in a bad way.

One thought on “Unexpected Bonding

  1. The strangest things bring people together, don’t they? Make sure you tell your little bro about this. I miss my youngest sister, taken from us suddenly in a stupid car accident.

    Also, see LT PM.

Leave a Reply

